I don’t do internet right

I don’t sketchdaily or upvote or even tweet right. #orusethesecorrectly #whatwhat

When I think about all my shortcomings, I should always read John Waters essays; they always make me feel better about everything.

I remember being in an epic water fight with the neighbors when I was eight. For some reason it was girls against boys, except for Ian, a kid slightly younger than me. He was on our team. The boys had ridiculous water guns. Super soakers. Backpacks with extra ammo. The girls + Ian just had water balloons, which you had to fill patiently at the outdoor faucet and make sure they didn’t slip off when almost full, otherwise they’d splat all over the ground. We were “losing” this fight. But…define losing. Ian embraced it eventually. He danced in front of the row of super soakers and basked in the free supply of water and sang “Taking a shower” to the tune of “Twist and Shout.” His custom shower.  Are you still a loser if you’re completely enjoying yourself?

But here are some semi-recent sketchdailies. I have been practicing a tiny bit almost every day.  My life outside this apartment has been a bit stressful lately. When I can let go of the pressure to be good, it is relaxing to draw. The only way I can create is when I embrace the idea of glorious failures.

Snapshot_20150928_1
#charlie #whatareyoustupid?

Snapshot_20150916 Snapshot_20150914_5 Snapshot_20150914_4 Snapshot_20150914_1

“It wasn’t until I started reading and found books they wouldn’t let us read in school that I discovered you could be insane and happy and have a good life without being like everybody else.”
― John Waters
Also,
“Contemporary art hates you.”
― John Waters

Leave a comment